Living In A Derivative World

Here’s all the brain food you need this weekend. In this TV report, made by Dutch television, the worlds leading financial experts, among them Emanuel Derman, Paul Wilmott and Mike Osinsky, explains what our economic system has become, how it got there and how it might end. Welcome to the real world…

“It’s a competition between elegance and the real world, and sometimes the real world is just dirty.”

Paul Wilmott

The complex world of derivative finance may be difficult for many people to understand. In this 45 minute TV reportage, made by Dutch television, some of the worlds leading experts in modern economics explains what’s been happening over the last years, what’s going on and what might happen in the future. The pioneers of quantitative finance are most worried about the impact of high frequency trading.

Quants are the math wizards and computer programmers in the engine room of our global financial system who designed the financial products that almost crashed Wall Street.

The credit crunch has shown how the global financial system has become increasingly dependent on mathematical models trying to quantify human (economic) behavior.

Now the quants are at the heart of yet another technological revolution in finance: trading at the speed of light.

What are the risks of treating the economy and its markets as a complex machine? Will we be able to keep control of this model-based financial system, or have we created a monster?

This is a story about greed, fear and randomness from the insides of Wall Street, featuring Emanuel Derman, Paul Wilmott and Mike Osinsky, among others.

Welcome to the real world!

Highlights:

Mike Osinsky:

“Making money is like taking some kind of drug.”

“Both Clinton and Bush agreed that the government should force the banks to make more subprime mortgages.”

“These guys are out of control – the industry has gotten out of control.”

“People who are in the business don’t want to talk to the press. If they do talk to the press, they probably would get fired.”


Paul Wilmott:

“If people don’t complaint now, it serves them right when the next financial crisis comes.”

“The next crisis could be within minutes.”

“Banking has totally lost touch with its original purpose, and is now becoming dangerous.”

“I know a lot of people in the business who are starting to feel jaded. This isn’t necessary a business to be proud of.”


Emanuel Derman:

“There’s been an increasing number of financial crisis since 1994. People are used to constant growth and every time it slows down the government steps in and try to stimulate the economy by lowering interest rates like they are doing now – every time it looks like it’s stops growing fast.”

“What worries me most is that some people get faster access to the market than others.”


Sit back and enjoy a healthy dose of reality:

Quants: The Alchemists of Wall Street:

Related by the Econotwist:

Volcano Ash Can Send The Earth Into “Deep Freeze”

Grape-eating Moth Disclose Dirty Secrets of U.S. Top Vineyards

Earthquake May Have Shortened Days on Earth

Mother Earth On Crack

When Will God Destroy Our Money?

Goldman’s Collateralize, Securisized And Synthesized Fraud

Fitch: The Long-Term Goldman-Effect

Obama: “It Is Time”

Euro Collapse As Greek, Portuguese And Spanish Spreads Widen

Markets To Test Greece

Attacks Against Spanish Financial Markets?

Traders Short Record Amount of Euro

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

0 thoughts on “Living In A Derivative World

  1. The next time I read a blog, I hope that it doesnt disappoint me as much as this one. I mean, I know it was my choice to read, but I actually thought youd have something interesting to say. All I hear is a bunch of whining about something that you could fix if you werent too busy looking for attention.

  2. I think other website proprietors should take this web site as an model, very clean and fantastic user genial style and design, let alone the content. You are an expert in this topic!

  3. I was very pleased to find this site.I wanted to thank you for this great read I definitely enjoying every little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you post.

  4. I am not sure where you are getting your information, but great topic. I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more. Thanks for magnificent info I was looking for this information for my mission.

  5. There is recognizably entrepreneur give the air up to gamble on upon this. yourself conceive he milled certitude pleasantly parts fellow feeling jowls likewise.

  6. Took me time to learn all of the feedback, but I actually loved the article. It proved to be Very useful to me and I’m positive to all of the commenters here! It’s always good when you can not solely be informed, but additionally entertained! I’m positive you had enjoyable penning this article.

  7. Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your site and in accession capital to assert that I get actually enjoyed account your blog posts. Any way I will be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you access consistently fast.

  8. Hands down, Apple’s app store wins by a mile. It’s a huge selection of all sorts of apps vs a rather sad selection of a handful for Zune. Microsoft has plans, especially in the realm of games, but I’m not sure I’d want to bet on the future if this aspect is important to you. The iPod is a much better choice in that case.

  9. I used to be very happy to search out this net-site.I wished to thanks to your time for this wonderful read!! I undoubtedly enjoying each little little bit of it and I’ve you bookmarked to take a look at new stuff you weblog post.

  10. Thanks a lot for giving everyone an exceptionally pleasant possiblity to discover important secrets from this web site. It really is very pleasing plus stuffed with a good time for me and my office friends to visit your site nearly thrice in 7 days to find out the newest tips you will have. And of course, I am actually fascinated considering the unbelievable knowledge you serve. Some 3 facts in this post are ultimately the best we have all had.

  11. Hey, you used to write wonderful, but the last few posts have been kinda boring¡K I miss your tremendous writings. Past few posts are just a little bit out of track! come on!

  12. Nice post. I study something tougher on completely different blogs everyday. It’s going to at all times be stimulating to read content from other writers and practice slightly something from their store. I’d want to use some with the content material on my blog whether you don’t mind. Natually I’ll provide you with a hyperlink on your web blog. Thanks for sharing.

  13. Simply wish to say your article is as amazing. The clarity in your post is just cool and i could assume you’re an expert on this subject. Well with your permission allow me to grab your feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please continue the gratifying work.

  14. Hi there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it’s really informative. I’m going to watch out for brussels. I’ll appreciate if you continue this in future. Many people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  15. Hey Yawl I read the information you uploaded here and I wanted to say you guys need to continue to add more content. It’s extremely interesting to me and I will probably be back. I will promote with my blogging friends. Keep it rolling!

  16. Pingback: HFT Turns To Low Liquidity Stocks « The Swapper

  17. Pingback: Markit Credit Wrap: The Week in Perspective « The Swapper

  18. Pingback: Ireland And Portugal Close To Collapse « The Swapper

  19. Pingback: Irish Sovereign CDS Spread Exceeds 500 Basis Points « The Swapper

  20. Pingback: Ex-Physicist Leads Flash Crash Inquiry « Econotwist's Blog

  21. Pingback: Ex-Physicist Leads Flash Crash Inquiry « The Swapper

  22. Pingback: The Ultimate Trading Weapon « The Swapper

  23. Pingback: Survey: Market Surprised By Negative Derivative Perception « The Swapper

  24. Pingback: Testimony Of A High Frequency Trader « The Swapper

  25. Pingback: The Rise Of The New Market Makers « The Swapper

  26. Pingback: Tweets that mention Living In A Derivative World « Econotwist's Blog -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

