Topic: Sovereign Debt- Want To Buy A Greek Island?

German politician Josef Schlarmann says Greece should sell some of their 6000 islands, of which only 227 are inhabited. The Greeks are of course not too found of the idea. What do you think? Should Europe start selling off bits and pieces to the Republic of China?

“We give you money. You give us Corfu.”

Bild

Greece could sell some of its islands to raise money to pay off its debt is, several members of the German parliamentarians thinks. “Those that are insolvent must sell everything they have to pay creditors. Greece owns the buildings, businesses and uninhabited islands that could be sold to pay debts,” German politician Josef Schlarmann says.

Schlarmann is a member of the ruling party CDU, and his view is being supported by Frank Schäffler, a financial expert in the Free Democratic Party, who also believe that Greece should also sell the famous Acropolis.

According to the newspaper Bild, another politician, Marco Wanderwitz, believe Greece can give Germany a few islands as collateral for their financial aid, the Norwegian news agency NTB report.

“We give you money. You give us Corfu,” the German newspaper writes in a comment.

As Germany are just starting to recover from the financial crisis, most Germans are frustrated and annoyed that the German taxpayers may have to rescue Greece after years of irresponsible economic policies.

The Greek Prime Minister George Papandreou is coming to Berlin, Friday, to discuss the situation with Chancellor Angela Merkel after the Greek government Wednesday approved new harsh emergency measures.

Vice Foreign Minister Dimitris Droutsas is not impressed with the proposal to sell some of the 6 000 Greek islands, of which only 227 are inhabited.

“I have heard the proposals. Such proposals are not appropriate at this time,” he told the German television channel ARD television.

What do you think?


Should a bankrupt state be able to sell off land to pay their debt?
Related on MoonTalk:

0 thoughts on “Topic: Sovereign Debt- Want To Buy A Greek Island?

  1. Hiya clever points.. now why didn’t i consider those? Off subject slightly, is that this web page sample merely from an extraordinary set up or else do you use a customized template. I take advantage of a webpage i’m searching for to improve and well the visuals is likely one of many key issues to complete on my list.
    Thanks for taking the time to discuss this, I really feel strongly about it and love studying extra on this topic. If potential, as you acquire expertise, would you thoughts updating your blog with extra info? It is extremely useful for me.
    You ought to essentially think about engaged on creating this blog into a serious authority on this market. You evidently have a grasp handle of the subjects everyone seems to be searching for on this website anyways and you may actually even earn a buck or two off of some advertisements. I might explore following current topics and elevating the amount of write ups you place up and I assure you’d begin seeing some wonderful targeted visitors in the close to future. Just a thought, good luck in whatever you do!

  2. Thanks a lot for telling me. I have a big problem with spam on this site. What you’re telling, confirms my suspicion – this site is due for a major overhaul.

    Best Regards
    econotwist

  3. Hello lads,

    I am looking astral projection techniques, if possible easy and with rapid results.
    Would any of you know any or could recommend a trustworthy website?

    Thanks!

  4. by the way I’m sorry, the english language just isn’t my primary language. When using your site I just witnessed some kind of strange code everywhere in the web-site . like Attention: Cannot change body information … etc. It is most probably my internet browser , since I still had absolutely no free time to upgrade and am continue utilizing google Chrome 2 but my personal internet site [url=http://your-remortgage.info]remortgage[/url] with standard sort just like for instance bing.com and google.com do show up free of problems for me, thus it is actually a bit strange.

  5. Heya guys and girls, could somebody if possible help me out? I arrived here the other day by way of bing but now cannot find once again the post I have been reading that day . And before someone asks, no I’m not blond merely not that excellent with computers hehe.
    Muack 🙂

    P.S. If somebody of you is also interested in [url=http://lil-wayne-music.info]lil wayne music[/url] see my Sig.

  6. New to moontalkeconotwist.wordpress.com and thought, what could be a better way to introduce myself than give my best regards to you all 🙂 hey please check out [url=http://sandiego-auto-insurance.info]san diego auto insurance[/url]

  7. Am new here, found moontalkeconotwist.wordpress.com by searching G and really like it here, will enjoy my stay for sure hehe 🙂

    p.s. If anyone of you is also fascinated in [url=http://washington-auto-insurance-quotes.info]washington auto insurance quotes[/url] you can see my Sig.

  8. I have came across some sort of unusual letters all around the websites . starting with Notice: Not possible modify body string … and so on. It’s possibly my Computer system , mainly because I still previously had simply no free time to update so am continue making use of InternetExplorer 6 but my website [url=http://las-vegas-car-insurance.info]las vegas car insurance[/url] as well as the popular ones just like, bing.com and google.com show up okay for me, so it’s slightly strange.

  9. Hey guys and girls, can somebody be so kind and help me out? I arrived here the other day by means of google but now are unable to find once more the post I was reading that day . And before somebody asks, no I’m not blond merely not that excellent with computer systems hehe.
    Thanks 🙂

    By the way If somebody is also interested in [url=http://youngdriver-car-insurance.info]insurance[/url] you can see my signature

  10. New here and thought, what could be a better way to introduce myself than give my best regards to all moontalkeconotwist.wordpress.com 🙂 Andhey please check out [url=http://car-hire-alicante-airport.info]car hire alicante airport[/url]

  11. Hello lads,

    This is a joke that I find hilarious everytime I read:

    A man received a parrot for his birthday. This parrot was fully-grown with a bad attitude and worse vocabulary. Every other word was an expletive. Those that weren’t expletives were, to say the least, extremely rude.
    The man tried hard to change the bird’s attitude and was constantly saying polite words, playing soft music, anything that came to mind.
    Nothing worked. He yelled at the bird, the bird got worse. He went to a voodoo spell caster to cast a [url=http://www.lovebindingspell.com]love spell[/url] on it, with no luck.
    He shook the bird and the bird got more angry and exceedingly rude.
    Finally, in a moment of desperation, he put the parrot in the freezer.
    For a few moments he heard the bird squawking, kicking and screaming and then, suddenly, all was quiet.
    The man was frightened that he might have actually hurt the bird and quickly opened the freezer door. The parrot calmly stepped out onto the man’s extended arm and said: “I’m sorry that I offended you with my language and actions. I ask for your forgiveness. I will try to improve my behavior.”
    The man was astounded at the bird’s change in attitude and was about to ask what changed him when the parrot continued, “…May I ask what the chicken did?”
    🙂

  12. New here, found moontalkeconotwist.wordpress.com trough bing and really like it here, will enjoy my stay hehe 🙂

    P.S. If somebody of you is too fascinated in [url=http://floridaonlinejobs.com]florida online jobs[/url] pleases see my Sig.

    • Thanks for stopping by 🙂
      There hasn’t been much activity on this site recently (except for a lot of spams), but that’s about to change. New layout and new content will soon be added. So, stay tuned!

      AllTheBest
      econotwist

    • Well, the community here is pretty small at the moment, but I’m hoping it will change in the near future 🙂

      Thanks for visiting!

      Best Regards
      econotwist

  13. Pingback: Desperation Gets A Grip: Greece Puts Islands Up For Sale « Econotwist's Blog

  14. New here, found moontalkeconotwist.wordpress.com trough yahoo and really like it here, will enjoy my stay

    By the way If somebody is too fascinated in [url=http://cellulitecelulite.com]cellulite[/url] see my signature

  15. Hey im new here. I came accross this forum I find It exceedingly useful & it has helped me so much. I should be able to give something back & help others like its helped me.

    Thank You, See Ya Later

  16. Heya i am fresh to this. I hit upon this board I have found It absolutely useful and it has helped me out alot. I hope to contribute & guide other people like it has helped me.

    Thanks a load, See Ya Around.

  17. New here, discovered moontalkeconotwist.wordpress.com by searching yahoo and seriously like it here, will enjoy my stay for sure hehe 🙂

    P.S. If someone is too interested in [url=http://www.forex1st.com]currency trading[/url] see my Sig.

  18. Hello i am new here, I hit upon this message board I find It extremely accessible and it has helped me tons. I should be able to give something back and aid other people like it has helped me.

    Cheers, Catch You Later

  19. Good Day i am new here, I hit upon this website I have found It vastly useful and it has helped me out a lot. I should be able to contribute and assist other users like it has helped me.

    Thank’s, See Ya Later.

  20. What’s Happening im new to this, I came accross this site I find It very useful & it’s helped me loads. I hope to contribute & help other users like it has helped me.

    Thanks, Catch You Later

  21. Howdy im new on here. I came accross this website I have found It very helpful & it has helped me out alot. I hope to give something back and support other users like it has helped me.

    Thank You, Catch You Later.

  22. Aloha im fresh here. I came upon this website I find It very useful & it’s helped me so much. I should be able to give something back & support other people like it has helped me.

    Thank You, See You Later

  23. I love this forum but before now had been only reading around and got zero idea what I could do in order to contribute. Eventually I now came up with a good thought in order to contribute and make all members of moontalkeconotwist.wordpress.com hopefully a little bit happier.

    I like watching movies and imagine every other member like viewing movies too, in particular the fresh ones that are just showing up in the cinemas however it is a pain in the ass to get them with torrents and also dangerous now a days (fu**ing US lows).

    So I decided to make exclusively for you all a tiny simple internet site where I will try to add all [url=http://newmoviereleasesdvd.info/]new release movies[/url] which just appeared in cinemas for you so that you can directly download them from a high speed server without the inconvenience of searching, losing time with torrents or risking your ass hehehe.

    You sure are by now tired reading this (sorry, am a awful writer) so just go to http://newmoviereleasesdvd.info and have a look around.

    P.S. Not certain if posting this in the this category was right? Anyway, Mod. hope you are Ok with this post, if not please move this to the right category or just delete it.

    Regards

  24. Greetings im fresh on here, I hit upon this site I find It very accommodating and its helped me tons. I should be able to give something back & support other users like its helped me.

    Thanks, Catch You Later

  25. Just switched the movie “Mist”. A rare cloudy shit. Make no mistake – young recruits through the fog came in 1941. Slang, Ponte, cheeky Bazaar, light hazing. In general, our realities. Been caught guys in trouble, fired at them, the commander was killed. Then he killed a couple of them, until they began to understand what is happening.
    OK, I sit at the screen and talk – “Yes SHOOT YOU, CHE in this complex,” of course not have to. I did not shoot at people, the war was not, therefore, to give advice to others in such a case would be foolish.

    BUT I am a computer [url=http://ngadla.ru/]games about the war I know that[/url] NOT ENEMY unleashes, the prisoner must not talk, the more believe in him and believed the enemy is not that war is BAD.
    And in the movie at least two have already died because of these errors. Well, nonsense, unacceptable. if boys yard, you should know that, if home is on computer games should understand it. And show us some hybrids incomprehensible.

    In general, turbidity and shit, especially when the reasoning went, not so easy to kill a man. ” Any fool could understand that is not easy, especially deep philosophy here is no.
    PS. The Germans behaved in a village almost disguised NKVD-Schnick.

Leave a Reply

